I’ll start with a quick introduction! I am Lauren and I currently take on the role of LIPA Dance Management Intern whilst I join Birmingham Royal Ballet on their Autumn Tour 2013 of Sleeping Beauty and Penguin Café Triple Bill, followed by their Christmas production – The Nutcracker! I’ll be blogging at least every week so stay posted to see what I get up to!

Commencing at The Lowry works well, I know the building and people suitably, it is one of the places I toured to with Heather Knight, it is the theatre where I have watched many shows since I was a child and I have also worked there as a Regional Representative within Merseyside for their Young Dance Ambassador Scheme, which has allowed me countless opportunities over the past year. Not to say I was still nervous, unaware of what to expect from this company in a touring environment.

I arrived at Stage Door, found my name on the BRB staff list (something that caused a contained ‘fan girl’ effect), ticked myself ‘in’ and made my way to the company office. An office that I would be sharing with Chief Executive – Christopher Barron, Director Laureate (ballet extraordinaire) – Sir Peter Wright, Director – David Bintley, Technical Director – Paul Grace, Company Manager – Paul Grist, Communications Director – Keith Longmore and Lighting Design Consultant – Peter Teigen. In my view, my name simply didn’t match up to these leading professionals.

When everyone began to arrive it appeared organised chaos. The magic flight case belonging to the company office had already been delivered during the get in that began the day before. It carried everything you could think of and saved me when a dancer asked for a pair of scissors two minutes later. I was shown the Fire Roll Call and the evacuation procedures and of course the tea and coffee section! The safe and its code were introduced to me; every drawer and removable box was explained. Our TV was turned on and I was happy to see the image of the stage appear where it showed the set that the crew had been busy building. I didn’t have anything to unpack, sitting and observing felt helpless. When asked to deliver sign in sheets to Stage Door (the desk of all knowledge!) and explain current situations I was more than happy to do so.

Later, Paul, and myself made our way to the hotel to check in. I used this opportunity to pick his brains about the week ahead and gather potential information for my assignments.

The 4 official Casting Bibles (of which I had been trying to make sense of the day before on the intranet) were situated in the company office, the dancer’s notice board, wardrobe and the wigs department. If there were to be any changes, the ballet masters would note them on these 4 bibles.

Even though this was the first day it was nonetheless eventful. Stage rehearsals began at 4pm and finished at 10pm with an evening break in between. A first aid situation occurred, a sewing machine caught fire, my first experience of excel during this placement and the BBC were filming for a documentary about the War time ballets; “When Britain fell in love with Ballet”. I was taught about contracted ‘comp’ tickets and we spoke about the following day where my main role would revolve around the Salford actors, I was looking forward to it!

