The final week of the season finds us travelling to Dublin for four performances of Coppélia. For all, the prospect of a summer holiday looms large but for me personally this week represents my final days as member of Birmingham Royal Ballet.

I have been asked to keep this blog and try and capture a little bit of what touring is like and what we get up to. I look forward to what should be an entertaining week!

Ireland, and Dublin in particular, has greeted us with dark clouds and heavy rain. Apparently our newest member, Maureya Lebowitz, commented with the line: ‘I heard all about the summers over here and how they don’t really exist but I didn’t realise it was actually true! They really don’t!’ or something to that effect. My fingers are crossed that the weather will pick up over the next few days.

Finally, I would like to add that I will be typing and sending all of this blog on an iPhone. I’m not trying to impress you or to convince you to purchase one. Rather, I am telling you to let you know of the risk I am taking and the perils I face by doing this. Autocorrect is a very clever feature on the iPhone and usually it makes life a lot easier when using the ultra sensitive touch screen. However, from time to time the feature can prove to be a pain in the backside, especially when you’re not vigilant.

The hope is that – if you are unfortunate enough to fall victim to the autocorrect – you at least only end up making no sense whatsoever, as opposed to propositioning your grandmother or offending your driving instructor. For this reason I shall check and double check my entries.

As I send this I am pleased to report that the rain has ceased and the sun is breaking through the clouds.

Until tomorrow,

Alexander Campbell

