The Japan Times online posted an interview with Miyako Yoshida, who is currently guesting with Birmingham Royal Ballet in Japan.

In the piece, she discusses her history with the Company, who were called the Sadler’s Wells Royal Baller when Miyako first performed with them.

“When I first started at Sadler’s Wells, David [Bintley, now Director of the Company] was still dancing, and he was an amazing performer. To me, until I went to England, ballet was more about dancing and showing technique,” she says. “I realized there, that ballet was not all about pirouettes or turning or jumping. It is also about telling a story, and David’s acting was always amazing.”

“I am really happy to be working with them again,” she says of the upcoming BRB tour, “I’m honored they offered me this chance.”

You can read the full article here.

