Chris Peterson is Birmingham Royal Ballet’s Assistant Stage Manager, and was on the Northern leg of last week’s split tour. Here’s his diary, in which we can at last reveal the results of the boat race!

Firstly, following on from Claire’s blog, I would like to take this opportunity to announce the winners of the Boys v Girls boat race in York. It is with great pleasure that I can confirm that this year, the boys won!! (‘by a mile’!) I think it is safe to say that the boys were sporting winners, and in no way was this brought up and bragged about for days after!

We were super lucky with the weather, both in Durham and York, which are both beautiful places in the sunshine. I even had time before the Saturday matinee for a spot of sunbathing with El Morgan [Senior Lighting Technician] in the park next to York Minster!

The tour was extra special for me, as it bought about my first opportunity to call a show for Birmingham Royal Ballet. This involved doing all the backstage calls, Front-of-house bells, and cueing the lighting, sound and flys. Although I have done this before, never have I done it for a company as big as BRB, so the pressure was really on! And obviously, with the lack of words in the performance, it meant me following the score to know where the cues were, which is something I had never done before. As I don’t play any instruments and haven’t had a proper music lesson since Year 9 at school, this made the whole thing even more of a challenge! But all this considered, I think I did well (although you’ll have to ask Diana [Childs, Senior Stage Manager] for an honest answer!).

Chris

